Staveley Junior School

Welcome to Staveley Junior School

College Avenue, Chesterfield, Derbyshire S43 3XE

01246 472 325

Meet the Governors


Jill Brooks writes:

I have been Chair of Governors at Staveley since September 2013.  Before that, I was an LA governor appointed by Derbyshire County Council. I was born in Staveley and have always lived here. I attended the Junior School when it was Middlecroft Junior School. I retired from teaching in March 2009 and wanted to stay involved in schools so became a governor at Staveley.

Who are the governors?

The governing body comprises: the Head Teacher, one Staff Governor, four co-opted Governors,  three Parent Governors  and one Governor nominated by the Local Authority. No matter which governor you ask about their work in school, they will always say the children are at the heart of any decision they make.

If you have any concerns about your child or any school related issues, first of all please speak to your child’s teacher or the Headteacher. If you still have concerns you can contact the Governing Body via the school office, by emailing the school or by phone on 01246 472 325.


Jill Brooks Julie Bacon Leanne Stevens
LA Governor/ Chair of Governors Co-opted Governor / Vice Chair Staff Governor
Sue Parkes Vacancy Kerry Wilkinson
Headteacher Governor Co-opted Governor Co-opted Governor











Vacancy David Churm Vacancy
Parent Governor Parent Governor Co-opted Governor




Greg Proffitt Katie Westwood
Parent Governor Clerk to Governors


What do we do?

We have three main areas of responsibility:

  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure the money is well spent.
  • To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • To hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils.

Staveley Junior School has a committed Governing Body. We are interested in knowing as much as possible about the school; its history and current context. We are all volunteers, and we give our time because we care about the school and the community. We have a wide range of skills, backgrounds and interests. We make decisions that help the school to provide the best possible education, in its widest sense, for all the children in our school.


How are we organised?

All of us meet at the beginning of each half term (six times a year), as a full Governing Body. Each meeting is minuted by our Clerk.


Name Date of Appointment Term of Office Step Down Date Appointed by
Jill Brooks 1st September 2018 4 years n/a

Local Authority

Julie Bacon 29th March 2022 4 years n/a

Appointed by GB

Sue Parkes 25th April 2022 ongoing while ever in post as HT n/a

ex-officio by virtue of office as HT

Leanne Turner 6th October 2021 4 years n/a

Elected by school staff

Kerry Wilkinson 29th March 2022 4 years n/a Appointed by GB
Catherine Jackson 3rd November 2020 4 years 21st May 2022 Parent appointed to GB, no election
David Churm 25th May 2021 4 years n/a Parent appointed to GB, no election
Greg Proffitt 25th May 2021 4 years n/a Parent appointed to GB, no election
Stuart Clay-Hadden 22nd October 2018 4 years 16th March 2022 Appointed by GB